Journalists Muratov, Ressa win Nobel Peace Prize

Source: KTLA 5 News

“Journalists Maria Ressa of the Philippines and Dmitry Muratov of Russia won the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize on Friday for their fight for freedom of expression in countries where reporters have faced persistent attacks, harassment and even murder. Ressa and Muratov were honored for their ‘courageous’ work but also were considered ‘representatives of all journalists who stand up for this ideal in a world in which democracy and freedom of the press face increasingly adverse conditions,’ said Berit Reiss-Andersen, chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee. Ressa in 2012 co-founded Rappler, a news website that the committee noted had focused critical attention on President Rodrigo Duterte’s ‘controversial, murderous anti-drug campaign’ in the Philippines. … Muratov was one of the founders in 1993 of the independent Russian newspaper Novaya Gazeta, which the Nobel committee called ‘the most independent newspaper in Russia today, with a fundamentally critical attitude towards power.'” (10/08/21)